Review: Sanctuary Spa Crème Soufflé

Hi guys. It’s review time again.

As my family know me very well, I received a lot of beauty and pampering products for Christmas! Aside from being incredibly covet-worthy and absolutely gorgeous, these products will also make for brilliant blog fodder. Or, at least, that’s what I’m hoping.

So, today I’ll be reviewing Sanctuary Spa’s delicious Crème Soufflé. According to the tub, this magical mixture consists of “air-filled bubbles of deliciously whipped moisture, burst with mango, jojoba & red seaweed for perfectly silken skin.” Though this blurb doesn’t absolutely make sense, the product does indeed do what it says on the tin. Or, y’know, tub.

20131227-154935.jpg

Mmm, look at that fluffy deliciousness…

So, here comes the review!

Pros:

  • Soaks in wonderfully quickly. It’s very cold in my house, so I like to get dressed immediately after I moisturise. Usually this leaves me feeling a bit sticky under my clothes, but this product soaks in so quickly that the sticky sensation is not an issue. A rare find in that respect!
  • Tested my skin yesterday evening, after a morning application, and it still felt beautifully moisturised. Lasts all day, even if you’ve been walking in the cold winter air.
  • Bubbles make a satisfying sound when you scoop out the product from the jar.
  • Comes in a massive tub. Which is never a bad thing. 475ml of soufflé? Yes please.
  • Ingredients: this stuff is paraben free and against animal testing, which is always good news. But it also contains handy things like jojoba oil, red seaweed, vitamin E, and mango extract. Very nice.

Cons:

  • Doesn’t really smell of much. This isn’t exactly a criticism, as it still smells beautifully luxurious and fresh, and just as a body cream should. However, as a Lush devotee, I do like things to have a more distinctive scent, or perhaps just a less subtle scent at times. This one vaguely hints at orange peel, but it does smell incredibly classy all the same.

20131227-154939.jpg

Verdict: I really, really like this. The smell is classy but very subtle, so it won’t interrupt any perfume I’m wearing, the formula is super moisturising, and, most importantly, it soaks into the skin incredibly well.

I think that last point is the clincher for me. It’s not every day that you find a moisturiser which really works all day long, and which doesn’t leave you feeling sticky after use. Big thumbs up from me. Thank you Mum and Dad!

In terms of purchasing this in the future, the price isn’t entirely unreasonable. It’s £10.50 for a big tub, which seems rather pricey, until you consider that 100ml only costs £2.21. That’s quite good, really. Will I repurchase? Quite possibly.

I hope you all had a lovely Christmas, and can’t wait to see you review and enjoy all of your presents!

Christmas Love,

Effie xx

10 thoughts on “Review: Sanctuary Spa Crème Soufflé

  1. I think I’ll be hooked soon too! I didn’t realise Sanctuary had an EDP, but I bet it smells really classy and fresh. When did you start using them? Hope you have a lovely weekend too! Xx

  2. I started to buy the body care products once they launched the EDP which was, I think, in 2007 or 2008. The Boots stores have plenty of half price Sanctuary gift sets left. Now’s the time to get your hands on one of their sets to discover the entire product range. :)
    I bet you’ll love the body wash with its tiny moisturising pearls and the luxury bath float…

  3. Ooooh tiny moisturising pearls do sound tantalising! It’s very encouraging that you’ve been a devotee for so long – few brands can maintain such a dedicated fan base, so Sanctuary stuff must be good! I also received the salt scrub for Christmas, so that’ll be the next thing I try :) xx

  4. This product seems intriguing! I also like that it’s a bit orange-scented, and of course that it works all day. Do you think it would be too “heavy-weight” for places with tropical climates, though (assuming I can find it somewhere here)? :)

    Anyway, I nominated you for the Sunshine Award because I really like your blog posts! Please check this page out for the mechanics when you have the time. :)

  5. Awwwh thank you so much! I’m so behind with awards but really appreciate it! I actually think this product would be great for tropical climates, as it’s one of the few I’ve come across which doesn’t feel sort of greasy and sweaty when you first put it on. But perhaps I’ve been unlucky with moisturisers! It’s not ideal to pack for tropical climates if you don’t already live in one, of course, as the pot is huge! Xx

Please feel free to comment! I love hearing what you think.

